Appropriations Sign-On Season Begins! (Updated April 19)

April 1, 2013
by Crickett Nicovich, Senior Policy Associate

It’s that season again! Basketball’s March Madness is winding down, Opening Day has the baseball fans in a frenzy, but our favorite season for saving lives and making a difference on issues we care about has finally arrived . . . Appropriations Sign-On Season!

Annually, members of Congress can support funding for our issues through sign-on letters to the chairs and ranking members of the Appropriations Committees. RESULTS activists are able to reach out to their own senators and representatives to request that they add their names to these sign-on letters to show their commitment to improving global health, access to basic education, and economic opportunity.

This blog post will keep you updated all season as RESULTS supports several sign-on letters in both the House and the Senate that impact the span of our anti-poverty issues. new blog.

Closed letters in the House of Representatives:


Rep. Betty McCollum (D-MN), Rep. David Reichert (R-WA), Rep. Lois Capps (D-CA) , and Rep. Aaron Schock (R-IL) initiated a bipartisan sign-on letter in support of U.S. foreign aid funding for ramping up Child Survival efforts, fulfilling our U.S. pledge to the GAVI Alliance for new and underutilized vaccines, and to support nutrition interventions to fight malnutrition in children in their first 1000 days of life. 


FINAL Signers (64): Betty McCollum (D-MN), David Reichert (R-WA), Lois Capps (D-CA), Aaron Schock (R-IL), Robert Andrews (D-NJ), Karen Bass (D-CA), Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Bruce Braley (D-IA), Andre Carson (D-IN), Yvette Clarke (D-NY), Steve Cohen (D-TN), John Conyers (D-MI), Joe Crowley (D-NY), Danny Davis (D-IL), Susan Davis (D-CA), Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Ted Deutch (D-FL), Lloyd Doggett (D-TX), Keith Ellison (D-MN), Eliot Engel (D-NY),  Elizabeth Esty (D-CT), Al Green (D-TX), Raul Grijalva (D-AZ), Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM),  James Hines (D-CT), Rush Holt (D-NJ), Henry Johnson (D-GA), William Keating (D-MA), Sheila Jackson Lee (D-TX), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Sander Levin (D-MI), John Lewis (D-GA), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), Ben Ray Luján (D-MN), Steven Lynch (D-MA), Carolyn Maloney (D-NY), Jim McDermott (D-WA),  James McGovern (D-MA), Grace Meng (D-NY), Gwen Moore (D-WI), James Moran (D-VA), Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), Grace Naplitano (D-CA), Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Bill Pascrell (D-NJ), Donald Payne, Jr. (D-NJ), Gary Peters (D-MI), Mark Pocan (D-WI), Jared Polis (D-MA), David Price (D-NC), Charlie Rangel (D-NY), Lucille Roybal-Allard (D-CA), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Wasserman Schultz (D-FL), Bobby Scott (D-VA),Albio Sires (D-NJ), Adam Smith (D-WA), Mark Takano (D-CA), John F. Tierney (D-MA), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Henry Waxman (D-CA), Peter Welch (D-VT), Frederica Wilson (D-FL) 

Rep. Barbara Lee (D-CA) initiated a letter in support of the Global Fund to Fight AIDS, Tuberculosis, and Malaria at $1.65 billion for FY 2014 and full funding for PEPFAR. Every month the Global Fund saves over 100,000 lives. 


FINAL Signers (101): Barbara Lee (D-CA), Karen Bass (D-CA), Joyce Beatty (D-OH), Ami Bera (D-CA), Sanford Bishop (D-GA), Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Suzanne Bonamici (D-OR), Robert Brady (D-PA), Corrine Brown (D-FL), G.K. Butterfield (D-NC), Lois Capps (D-CA), Tony Cardenas (D-CA), André Carson (D-IN), Joaquin Castro (D-TX), Matt Cartwright (D-PA), Judy Chu (D-CA), Yvette Clarke (D-NY), Lacy Clay (D-MO), James Clyburn (D-SC), Steve Cohen (D-TN), John Conyers (D-MI), Donna Christensen (D-VI), David Cicilline (D-RI), Elijah Cummings (D-MD), Danny Davis (D-IL), Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Suzan DelBene (D-WA), Peter DeFazio (D-OR), Donna Edwards (D-MD), Eliot Engel (D-NY), Anna Eshoo (D-CA), Elizabeth Esty (D-CT), Chaka Fattah (D-PA), Lois Frankel (D-FL), Marcia Fudge (D-OH), John Garamendi (D-CA), Al Green (D-TX), Raúl Grijalva (D-AZ), Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM), Luis Gutierrez (D-IL), Janice Hahn (D-CA), Alcee Hastings (D-FL), Denny Heck (D-WA), Jim Himes (D-NY), Rush Holt (D-NJ), Jared Huffman (D-CA), Sheila Jackson-Lee (D-TX), Hakeem Jeffries (D-NY), Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), Hank Johnson (D-GA), William Keating (D-MA), Joe Kennedy (D-MA), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Rick Larsen (D-WA), Sander Levin (D-MI), John Lewis (D-GA), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Carolyn Maloney (D-NY), Edward Markey (D-MA), Jim McDermott (D-WA), James McGovern (D-MA), Gloria Negrete McLeod (D-CA), Jerry McNerney (D-CA), George Miller (D-CA), Gwen Moore (D-WI), James Moran (D-VA), Jerrold Nadler (D-NY),  Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC), Beto O’Rourke (D-TX), Donald Payne, Jr. (D-NJ), Gary Peters (D-MI), Chellie Pingree (D-ME),  Mark Pocan (D-WI), Jared Polis (D-CO), David Price (D-NC), Charles Rangel (D-NY), Bobby Rush (D-IL), Linda Sanchez (D-CA), John Sarbanes (D-MD),Robert “Bobby” Scott (D-VA), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Terri Sewell (D-AL), Carol Shea-Porter (D-NH), Brad Sherman (D-CA), Albio Sires (D-NJ), Jackie Speier (D-CA), Eric Swalwell (D-CA), Mark Takano (D-CA),  Bennie Thompson (D-MS), John Tierney (D-MA), Paul Tonko (D-NY), Juan Vargas (D-CA), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Marc Veasey (D-TX), Filemon Vela (D-TX), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (D-FL), Maxine Waters (D-CA), Melvin Watt (D-NC), Henry Waxman (D-CA), Frederica Wilson (D-FL)

Rep. Eliot Engel (D-NY), Rep. Gene Green (D-TX), and Rep. Don Young (R-AK) initiated a bipartisan sign-on letter in support of $400 million in FY 2014 for U.S. bilateral tuberculosis funding. Tuberculosis anywhere is tuberculosis everywhere. 


FINAL Signers (30):  Eliot Engel (D-NY), Gene Green (D-TX), Don Young (R-AK), Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Andre Carson (D-IN), Yvette D. Clarke (D-NY), John Conyers, Jr. (D-MI), Joe Crowley (D-NY),  Danny K. Davis (D-IL), Rosa DeLauro (D-CT), Donna F. Edwards (D-MD), Keith Ellison (D-MN), Chaka Fattah (D-PA), Raul Grijalva (D-AZ), Michelle Lujan Grisham (D-NM),  Eddie Bernice Johnson (D-TX), Derek Kilmer (D-WA), Barbara Lee (D-CA), Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), Jim McDermott (D-WA), Gwen Moore (D-WI), Jerrold Nadler (D-NY), Bill Pascrell Jr. (D-NJ), Donald M. Payne Jr. (D-NJ), Gary C. Peters (D-MI), Mark Pocan (D-WI), David E. Price (D-NC), Charles B. Rangel (D-NY), Jan Schakowsky (D-IL), Frederica S. Wilson (D-FL)


Rep. Jim McDermott (D-WA) initiated a sign on letter to support robust U.S. foreign aid funding for basic education. Access to education promotes effective and sustainable development and creates healthier communities. Send your Representative this “Dear Colleague” letter and ask them to support US efforts to promote literacy and increase access to primary school. CLOSED APRIL 17

Current Signers (28 – Still updating!): Jim McDermott (D-WA), Michael Capuano (D-MA), Andre Carson (D-IN), Rush Holt (D-NJ), Sander Levin (D-MI), James McGovern (D-MA),  Gwen Moore (D-WI), Jared Polis (D-CO), Adam Smith (D-WA)


Explore Related Articles

Stay in action and up-to-date.
Get our Weekly Updates!

This site uses cookies to help personalize content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register. By continuing to use this site, you consent to our cookies.